It begins…

Hello bloggers, blog readers, and ENG 407/IMS 507 classmates!

As much as I enjoy reading blogs, up until now,  I’ve been more of an blog consumer than a producer.

But I love discussing and learning about the impact that digital technology is making on the way we search for, consume and interact with information. So I’m looking forward to this attempt at being more proactive.

A recent assignment was to read several articles on Bruns’ theory of produsage.  One of the Key Principles is the idea of creating “unfinished artefacts.” By creating a living thing and allowing shared contribution of information, over time you quality improves, assuming the valuable contributions outweigh the invaluable ones.

I like this idea because it parallels the themes of one of my favorite books Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance – “the journey is more important than the destination” (If you haven’t read it, you really should!). In the book the author talks about Quality being a continuous process, one that is constantly evolving. There is never a point in which Quality is static; with each evolution, a new standard of Quality is created.

So, I think of this class as the “living artefact”, and people in it as the “produsers.” During the next 15 weeks or so we get to be part of that produsage process – by engaging in the course and contributing to one another’s work through class discussions, blog comments, and forums we hopefully improve our individual knowledge and at the same time improve the overall quality of the course itself.

Sources referenced:

Produsage: A Working Definition. http://produsage.org/node/9

Produsage: Key Principles. http://produsage.org/node/11

Pirsig, Robert M. Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance. New York: Bantam, 1974.

2 thoughts on “It begins…

  1. Great Entry! I think its awesome that you described the class as a “living artifact”. Already from the short time we have been in the class I feel like it has helped me expand my own business knowledge, and therefore my own “brand”. I will definitely take up your suggestion of Pirsig’s book–as an English major you’d think I’d get enough reading material through school–but I’m always looking for more!

Leave a Reply

